Five Best Romantic Novels Worth Reading

  1. Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman

best romantic novels

Call Me by Your Name is a 2007 novel by American writer André Aciman about a love affair between an intellectually precocious 17-year-old American-Italian Jewish boy and a visiting 24-year-old American Jewish scholar in 1980s Italy.  It is about Elio Perlman, who’s spending the summer at his parents’ house, and the romance that blossoms between him and his family’s houseguest. The novel chronicles their summer romance and the 20 years that follow. The story will stay with you long after you finish. Yes, that rare effect!

Buy here: Call me by your name

  1. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

best romantic novels

Outlander (published in the United Kingdom as Cross Stitch) is the first in a series of eight historical multi-genre novels by Diana Gabaldon. Published in 1991, it focuses on the Second World War–era nurse Claire Randall, who travels through time to 18th century Scotland and finds adventure and romance with the dashing Jamie Fraser. Basically having a theme of Claire Randall, who’s caught between two different men in two different centuries has readers raving. Honestly this book’s always better each time they’re read.

Buy it here: Outlander

  1. Looking For Alaska by John Green

Looking for Alaska best romantic novels

Looking for Alaska is John Green’s first novel, published in March 2005 by Dutton Juvenile. The story is told through teenager Miles “Pudge” Halter, as he enrolls at a boarding school to try to gain a deeper perspective on life, and was inspired by Green’s experiences as a high school student. He meets one student in particular, Alaska Young, who he falls in love with as she guides him through his own “labyrinth of suffering.” After her unexpected death, he is forced to work through his internal “labyrinth” himself as he and his close friends attempt to uncover the truth behind Alaska’s death.

For those young-and-in-love readers, you’ll definitely want to check this out! Written by the same author that gave us The Fault In Our Stars, John Green. Basically a story about Miles Halter, who’s heading off to boarding school to experience something new. It isn’t soon after he arrives that he falls in love with Alaska Young.

Buy here: Looking for Alaska

  1. Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

best romantic novel Jonn Bonnett

Bailey Rydell has spent half the year crushing on “Alex,” a film nerd she only knows over the internet. Unsure of what “Alex” is like in real life, she doesn’t tell him that she moved to his hometown or got a job at the local museum. At the new job, Porter Roth, the hot museum security guard, heckles her daily. Bailey at first finds Porter to be irritable, but is surprised to find that she develops feelings for him. She must make the tough decision between her online fantasy and Porter. But things get even more complicated because Porter Roth is hiding a secret of his own: Porter is Alex…Approximately.

Buy it here: Alex, Approximately

  1. Honesty by Seth King

best romantic novel soth king honesty

A radiant story of first love and self-acceptance for fans of John Green, Jandy Nelson, and Rainbow Rowell

“Maybe we weren’t meant to collide. Maybe we were meant to explode.”

As a closeted teenager in the Deep South with a holy-roller father and the scars to prove it, bookworm Cole Furman has resigned himself to experiencing life and love only within the pages of his favorite novels. But after Nick Flores seems to walk off a page and starts to rewrite his story, Cole finds his dreams spinning into a dazzling – and complicated – reality.

If you have ever found yourself on the wild breathless thriller ride that is young love, Honesty will rip you back again in screaming color.

Seth King’s love story is about two closeted college students who want nothing more than the ability to be themselves with the lights on. Honesty is a beautiful depiction of the hardships that some people face when it comes to who they love due to society’s norms.

Buy it here: Honesty by Seth King




Hope you all have a jolly time reading through all these ranging romantic novels!

-Shreesha Balan

Facebook Comments
Spread the love
  • 9
    Shares
Categories: Literature

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge